News & Events

Eparchy Of Mandya Enlarged, Fr. Antony Kariyil Cmi New Bishop

The Holy Father has enlarged the boundaries of the eparchy of Mandya of the Syro-Malabar  and included neighbouring  six civil districts, in which lie the Syro-Malabar faithful: Bangalore Urban, Bangalore Rural, Chickballapur, Kolar, Tumkur and Ramnagara.At the Synod of the Syro-Malabar Major Archbishops at Mount Saint Thomas in Kerala (India),  Rev. Dr. P. Antony Kariyil CMI was canonically elected bishop of the said eparchy of Mandya of the Syro-Malabar (India).  Fr. Antony Kariyil is currently the Director of Rajagiri School of engineering and Technology ( RSET) in Cochin, Kerala.Fr. Dr. Antony Kariyil CMI is an eminent scholar and academician, with many laurels to his credit. He was the professor and later the Principal of Christ College Bangalore from 1975 to 1997. He was also the Principal Rajagiri College of Social Sciences, from 1997 to 2002.

As a distinguished academician, he has served as the member of various academic bodies, including the Academic Council of the Bangalore University; Board of Studies in Sociology of Bangalore University and Calicut University; Board of Studies in Social Work of Calicut University; Senate of the Cochin University of Science & Technology; and Syndicate of the M.G. University. An avid researcher, he has several publications to his credit, including two books ‘Church and Society in Kerala: A Sociological Study’ and ‘Thiruvayassu’.

Dr. Antony Kariyil was the Vicar Provincial and Secretary for Social Work of the CMI Sacred Heart Province, Kochi from 1999 to 2002. He was elected the Prior General of the CMI congregation in 2002; after which he served as the Provincial Superior of the Sacred Heart Province and Manager of Rajagiri Educational Institutions from 2008 to 2011.

Dr.Antony Kariyil’s untiring efforts and hard work had been instrumental in the establishment of RSET. He has guided, supported and has shouldered a crucial role in the growth of RSET from the early days and continued to nurture the institution even when he was elected as the prior general of CMI congregation from 2002 to 2008.